Get To Know: Data Analyst Nick Murphy

Visionary Services Published by: Visionary Services Published on: Monday, July 1, 2019

 

Start off by telling everyone about yourself:

I'm originally from Sioux City, IA, went to Bishop Heelan HS. I was a 4-year letterman in Cross Country and Track. I got a scholarship to run at Iowa State, fastest recorded mile 4:16.9. I studied Kinesiology and got my degree in 09. It was at ISU, I fell in love with dance/hip hop. The culture, the history is fascinating! Love sharing. Did some traveling with dance, was working ongoing professional and ended up setting that to the side, as my new title of Daddy was more important! I have a beautiful little daughter name Gabrielle, Gabby for short. She’s 6 year’s old and my tiny twin! We are both Harry Potter geeks, making a trip to Universal Studios this summer to visit Harry Potter World. The trip is in August!

 

What is your professional background? 

Prior to starting at Visionary, I was at Wells Fargo Home Mortgage for 7 years. This is where I started coding. Self-taught in coding, started 5 years ago with Access DB wizard and eventually learned MS SQL. But as far as computers I have been messing with computers since I was 6. Before Wells Fargo, I attempted to try to work in the Health Industry after college, didn’t quite pay that well in the late ’00s.

 

What are your hobbies outside of work?

Being active for sure. Love dancing, almost to an unhealthy level. Perhaps my biggest hobby. I also enjoy cycling, frisbee golf I like to try to frisbee gold whenever I travel somewhere. I’m a huge live music junky, I hit up at least 1 major music festival every year. Stand up comedy is also another, I like to think of comedians as modern day philosophers.  I also enjoy snowboarding. (I don’t really sleep that much).

 

What have you enjoyed about Visionary so far?

The team aspect to projects, everyone is very willing to help on projects if they can. Also the art in the office and the different art exhibits we were able to attend recently.

 

Where is your favorite place to eat in Des Moines?

To be honest, I don’t have a favorite genre of food but, as long as its local with great food and great drinks I'm in! Sakari or Akebono when I’m feeling sushi. Taco’s Degollado taco truck in drake part next to advanced auto parts. Mullets/Waveland Café for brunch!

 

What is your favorite season and why?

Winter! I find the snow to be really pretty and I really like snowboarding, looking forward to teaching my daughter next winter! Is 7 too young to start going down double black diamonds?

 

Best book or blog you've read lately?

The slight edge by Jeff Olson

 

What is one thing you could not live a day without?

Dancing.

 

What are your words to live by?

Progress comes through Process – Jason Woodward. Also, anyone can be negative with almost no effort, being positive take mindfulness and hard work. Never miss an opportunity to act like a child, you will appreciate it when you have to be an adult!

 

What are you loving at the moment?

Local Natives, Leon Bridges, St Paul and the Broken Bones…couple bands I have been into. Also, Travis Garland does these really cool mashups on youtube. 

 

Anything else we should know?

I've been a bartender as a side job for the last 15 years. It's one of the most fun jobs I’ve ever had and also the hardest to quit.

 

There is more I could say, the rest you will have to ask in person! 😊

 

Back to the Blog